Quotes about printing and the printed word.

Before printing was discovered, a century was equal to a thousand years.

…Henry David Thoreau

We are the children of a technological age. We have found streamlined ways of doing much of our routine work. Printing is no longer the only way of reproducing books. Reading them, however, has not changed.

…Lawrence Clark Powell

If all printers were determined not to print anything till they were sure it would offend nobody, there would be very little printed.

…Benjamin Franklin

The printing press was at first mistaken for an engine of immortality by everybody except Shakespeare.

…Marshall McLuhan

It’s called a pen. It’s like a printer, hooked straight to my brain.

…Dale Dauten

What gunpowder did for war the printing press has done for the mind.

…Wendell Phillips

The very ink with which history is written is merely fluid prejudice.

…Mark Twain

The things I want to know are in books; my best friend is the man who’ll get me a book I ain’t read.

…Abraham Lincoln

I spent three days a week for 10 years educating myself in the public library, and it’s better than college. People should educate themselves – you can get a complete education for no money. At the end of 10 years, I had read every book in the library and I’d written a thousand stories.

…Ray Bradbury

The printing press is either the greatest blessing or the greatest curse of modern times, sometimes one forgets which it is.

…E. F. Schumacher

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.