Quotes about writers and how to write.

I learned never to empty the well of my writing, but always to stop when there was still something there in the deep part of the well, and let it refill at night from the springs that fed it.

…Ernest Hemingway

Substitute “damn” every time you’re inclined to write “very”; your editor will delete it and the writing will be just as it should be.

…Mark Twain

My stories run up and bite me on the leg – I respond by writing down everything that goes on during the bite. When I finish, the idea lets go and runs off.

…Ray Bradbury

Writing is a form of therapy; sometimes I wonder how all those who do not write, compose or paint can manage to escape the madness, melancholia, the panic and fear which is inherent in a human situation.

…Graham Greene

There are three rules for writing a novel. Unfortunately, no one knows what they are.

…W. Somerset Maugham

The most important thing is to read as much as you can, like I did. It will give you an understanding of what makes good writing and it will enlarge your vocabulary.

…J. K. Rowling

Writing is the only thing that, when I do it, I don’t feel I should be doing something else.

…Gloria Steinem

I have never started a poem yet whose end I knew. Writing a poem is discovering.

…Robert Frost

All good writing is swimming under water and holding your breath.

…F. Scott Fitzgerald

Writing is like prostitution. First you do it for love, and then for a few close friends, and then for money.

…Moliere

In writing and politicking, it’s best not to think about it, just do it.

…Gore Vidal

True ease in writing comes from art, not chance, as those who move easiest have learned to dance.

…Alexander Pope

A writer is somebody for whom writing is more difficult than it is for other people.

…Thomas Mann

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.